Regenerative agriculture at Gut Haidehof

The farm Gut Haidehof was founded in 1904  to supply food for the west of Hamburg. After having served as a horse farm in recent decades, we want to take up the original idea of the Haidehof again and practice sustainable and regenerative agriculture.

Vegetables

Surrounded by a colourful bee field, we have this spring created a very special vegetable garden. In addition to the great diversity, this tractor-free and space intensive cultivation, which is also known internationally under Market Garden, is the heart of our farm. In our daily work, we use innovative hand tools and mulching systems that minimise harmful soil compaction and promote beneficial soil life.

Vegetables

Animals

In the future, cattle will graze on our green pastures. Following the holistic grazing management of Allan Savory, the animals will move each day to a new piece of pasture where they will find fresh, green grass.

Laying hens will also be integrated into this pasture management. They are housed in mobile stables following behind the cattle. As a result, they live on pasture and find their food to a notable extend themselves: insects, seeds and grass.

Through this balanced pasture management, the soil can regenerate optimally and will grow enough healthy grass in the future even in dry years. As a side effect, we produce meat and eggs of highest quality.

Regenerative Landwirtschaft auf Gut Haidehof

Der Haidehof wurde 1904 als Landwirtschaft für die Lebensmittelversorgung des Hamburger Westens gegründet. Nachdem er in den letzten Jahrzehnten als Reiterhof gedient hat, wollen wir die ursprüngliche Idee des Haidehofs wieder aufgreifen und eine zukunftsfähige und regenerative Landwirtschaft aufbauen.

Gemüse

Umgeben von einer bunten Bienenweide haben wir diesen Frühling einen ganz besonderen Gemüsegarten angelegt. Neben der großen Vielfalt ist diese traktorlose und flächeneffiziente Anbauform, die international auch unter Market Garden bekannt ist, das Herzstück unseres Hofes. Bei unserer täglichen Arbeit verwenden wir innovative Handwerkzeuge und Mulchsysteme, die schädliche Bodenverdichtung minimieren und nützliches Bodenleben fördern.

AlbaWeb

DSC 9644

Tiere

In Zukunft werden Rinder auf unseren Grünflächen weiden. Dem ganzheitlichen Weidemanagement nach Allan Savory folgend, werden die Tiere jeden Tag auf ein neues Stück Weide weiterziehen, wo sie frisches, grünes Gras finden.

Auch Legehennen werden in dieses Weidemanagement integriert. Sie werden in mobilen Ställen untergebracht und folgen den Rindern in einem dreitägigen Abstand. Dadurch leben auch sie hauptsächlich auf der Weide und finden ihr Futter zu einem nennenswerten Teil selbst: Insekten, Samen und Gras.

Durch dieses balancierte Weidemanagement kann sich der Boden bestens regenerieren und wird in Zukunft auch in trockenen Jahren ausreichend gesundes Gras wachsen lassen. Als Nebeneffekt produzieren wir Fleisch und Eier von ganz besonderer Qualität.